End of Summer Fruit Stand Pie Party!

Published by

on


You’re pie party is just a few steps away! The perfect end of summer party for everyone!~Amy

End of Summer Fruit Stand Pie Party!

Party menu:

Homemade Pie Preserves:
Fresh Peach and Lemon Verbena*
Fresh Strawberry, Raspberry, and Rhubarb*
Fresh Blackberry, Blueberry, and Basil*
Bourbon Vanilla Custard*

Fresh Fruit:
Sliced Peaches, raspberries, strawberries and blackberries

Sugared Pastry Toppers, recipe follows

Brown Sugar Oatmeal Butter Crumble, recipe follows

Brown Sugar Whipped Cream*

Sugared Puff Pastry Toppers:
Heat oven to 400 degrees
I package purchased puff pastry
Egg + 1 tbsp water beaten
Crystal sugar

Cut each sheet into 9 Squares. Place on parchment lined sheet, brush with egg wash, and sprinkle with sugar. Bake until golden brown 12-14 minutes. Cool.

Sugared Pie Crust Toppers:
Heat oven to 400 degrees
I recipe pie dough, homemade or purchased
2-3 tbsp milk or cream
Crystal sugar

Cut into desired shapes. Place on parchment lined sheet, brush with milk or cream and sprinkle with sugar. Bake until golden brown 12-14 minutes. Cool.

Brown Sugar Oatmeal Butter Crumble:
1 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 brown sugar
1/4 tsp kosher salt
3/4 cup oatmeal
3/4 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a medium sized bowl stir together flour, sugars, salt and oatmeal. Cut butter into flour mixture until the mixture is crumbly and the butter is pea sized. Spread evenly onto parchment. Bake until golden brown. Or refrigerate until ready to use.

Entertaining Station:

Belham Living Winfield Potting Table
$180, http://www.hayneedle.com

Coral Coast Halstead Outdoor Wood Potting Bench
$250, hayneedle.com

*Recipes and can be found on my blog at http://www.greattastebuds.wordpress.com

6 responses to “End of Summer Fruit Stand Pie Party!”

  1. Lila Avatar
    Lila

    Wonderful idea! I’m excited to see if I can serve this for a luncheon of about 70 people in a couple of weeks. I’m trying to calculate how many recipes of each I would need. I’m thinking 8 quarts of pie filling and 4 recipes of the crumble but I’m not sure about the puff pastry toppers and the pie crust toppers. Any suggestions?

    On Studio 5 you said to use acidity but I can’t see anything in the recipe. Do I need it if I freeze the filling and what do I use per recipe? I want to prepare this ahead so I don’t have so much to do at the last minute so if I freeze the fillings, do I heat them up after they have thawed and serve them when they have cooled?

    Can I make the toppers ahead of time and freeze them? If not, how far ahead can I make them?

    For the Bourbon Vanilla Cream, I don’t know anything about that particular vanilla. Can you substitute other pure vanilla extract? (I think my daughter brought me some from Mexico.) How many servings does this recipe make and how far ahead can I make it?

    Also, where do you find crystal sugar? Sorry about all of the questions, I’m trying to decide if I can handle this for a large group.

    Thanks for your help!

    1. amyprichardson Avatar
      amyprichardson

      Hi Lila!

      This will totally work for your party!
      Hello!

      I am so excited you are thinking of doing this for your party! It will totally work for a large group!
      If I were doing it, I would make 3 batches of each pie filling, with possibly some left over. I would do it cooked and pour it in the jars and just make sure it seals. Then just refrigerate until the day of and then just bring it to room temperature.
      2 or 3 batches of the crumble will be plenty, it makes a lot.
      I would plan on making enough pie toppers, at least one per person. Thank heavens the puff pastry is so easy, because that is more popular. It can made 2 days ahead, and if you want to freshen them up, you can warm them in the oven.
      The sugar is available at Orson Gygi, but regular sugar is pretty too. Any vanilla will taste great!
      The acidity is already in the recipe with the lemon or lime juice.
      Good luck with your party, it will be awesome!!
      ~Amy

  2. Evan L. Baker Avatar
    Evan L. Baker

    I have tried to print out and/or find the suggested recipes in the Studio 5 – The Fruit Stand Pie Party segment. How do I print out the recipes and find those suggested? I’ve tried, but can’t seem to find them, and if found, I can’t see to get them to print out!!! What are we doing wrong?

    1. amyprichardson Avatar
      amyprichardson

      I am definitely techno challenged, so this is a simple website. Just scroll down, and as the page ends, it will reload with earlier posts. The End of Summer Pie Party was posted on August 3rd, so you might have to go down to the next page. Sorry for the inconvenience. ~Amy

  3. Frankie N. Avatar
    Frankie N.

    Great idea! Where did you get the cute fruit labels?

    1. amyprichardson Avatar
      amyprichardson

      I just download vintage print labels, and they all came up! There are many that I didn’t use, and so many cute ones! ~Amy

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.