Zebra Bars


image

In the summer we all try not to turn on the oven, but sometimes we need serious chocolate, and these are definitely worth it! ~Amy

,

2/3 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cup of brown sugar
1 tbs of water
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1/3 cup cocoa
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp course salt
2 cups plus 1 tbsp flour
1 cup of milk, or semi sweet chocolate chips
1 cup of white chocolate chips, Ghiradelli are the best for swirling

With an electric mixer, beat butter and brown sugar for about 3 minutes. Add eggs, water, vanilla and salt. Mix until light, add flour, cocoa powder and soda, and mix well. In a 9×13 inch pan place the dough and spread out evenly. Sprinkle the chocolate chips over the top.

Place in oven at 375 degrees for 4 minutes, then using a knife swirl the chocolate. Bake an additional 12-14 minutes.

Makes 1 1/2 dozen

Recipe by Amy and Madeline Richardson

7 thoughts on “Zebra Bars

    • Thanks. I see now that the cocoa was added in the instuctions. I made these, and they are exceptionally good. It’s a must have recipe for me and I’m adding it to my best recipes file. I must say- my swirling talents are in need of improvement…as my brownies didn’t look as beautiful as the ones pictured. I’d love you to demo these and show how you swirl them on a studio 5 segment. 👍😊

Leave a Reply

